In the unlikely event that your Opengear device should lose its configuration or require a factory erase, you can restore a configuration stored on a PC, USB storage device, or some other safe place to minimize downtime.
A copy of your current configuration can also be stored on the Opengear device itself. This is useful for storing multiple configuration profiles, or as a quick snapshot of a known good configuration before any configuration changes are made that cause the appliance to stop functioning as before.
Configurations are saved as a plain, unencrypted text file.
After configuring your Opengear device, it is strongly recommended that you remotely back up your configuration to an encrypted file. If the device becomes unresponsive and you cannot contact the appliance, a factory erase might be necessary. A factory erase eradicates locally stored configurations. Therefore, the locally stored configuration files should not be considered a substitute
for performing regular, remote configuration backups. A best practice is to backup a configuration remotely on a regular basis before and after you make any significant changes (such as adding new Users or Managed Devices) or before performing a firmware upgrade.